Skip to main content

LNBA 20th Anniversary

On July 23, 2014 the NCDENR Division of Water Resources (DWR) celebrated the 20th Anniversary of the Lower Neuse Basin Assoication being a part of the State's Coalition Monitoring Program. The reception was held at the Cliffs of the Neuse State Park.

North Carolina is the only state with a coalition monitoring program comprised of NPDES Discharge Permit holders. The LNBA through a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) monitors 50+ sampling sites from Falls Lake Dam to the City of New Bern and was the first coalition participant. The original MOA was executued in July of 1994.

The reception was hosted by Carrie Ruhlman, WSS Monitoring Coalition Coordinator. The guest speakers for the reception included Jay Sauber, former ESS Section Chief (retired), Dan Mclawhorn, LNBA & NRCA Chairman, John Skvarla, NCDENR Secretary, Hans Paerl with UNC- Chapel Hill, Institute of Marine Science locate in Morehead City, N.C., Dianne Reid, WSS Section Chief, and Steve Tedder, Environmental Management Commision (EMC) member & EMC Water Quality Committee Chairman. Each member of the LNBA was presented with an award of recognition by DWR.